I Love You, Don’t Touch Me.

I love my family more than anything else. However, there are times when the last thing in the world I want is for any of them to touch me.

This phrase has been helpful in certain situations in order to help my family {husband AND kids} understand that while I have absolutely more love for them than I ever imagined possible, there are simply times when I feel disgusting or I am busy and I don’t want them within six inches of me.

We have a relatively active family and are outdoors often. Lately, it has been upper 80s to low 90s every day. And STICKY! Bleh! After we go for a walk, ride bikes, work in the garden, etc… that seems to be the exact moment my children want to be picked up and snuggled. Ugh! No, no, no!!! I love you, don’t touch me.

Once we cool down or shower, I will give you as many snuggles as you can handle! But please, please, please, don’t touch my sticky skin with your sticky skin. 

I know. I’m heartless.

My husband apparently became aware of this when I was pregnant with our eldest minion. She is a July baby. Nine months pregnant in July? Not fun. I love you, don’t touch me.

List of times mama doesn’t want touched:

  • I’m sweating,
  • I’m working in the garden,
  • I’m cooking dinner,
  • I’m nine months pregnant in summer,
  • I’ve been holding children more than six hours of the day, and
  • As needed.

The kids are actually very good about this and they are understanding. I make a point to let them know that I feel icky and will love on them soon, just not now.

I know it is a silly thing, but it is my thing. Luckily, my kids are understanding and I always have extra morning or nighttime snuggles ready as needed upon request. 🙂

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

