This Damn Blanket…

Since my little girls are showing strong desire in all things domestic {sewing, scrapbooking, knitting, etc…} we decided to take part of our unfinished basement and turn it into a craft room. In this, I rounded up all my craft collections through the years and moved to the desired section. One of the items I found was a blanket that I started knitting for my husband before we were married. We’ve been married almost 9 years!

I had taught myself to knit in college and knitted scarves here and there. For some strange reason, I decided, hey, let’s try a blanket.

To knit this blanket, I allowed my {then} boyfriend to pick out the yarn he liked in the colors he liked. The plan was for stripes of blue and grey Chanel.  All started out well, but I soon realized that I was a little over-ambitious on the size of the blanket. The width alone covers a twin bed easily – not easy to keep on a knitting needle. But, I kept at it. I would get lost sometimes in the knitting, but I would keep moving on.

Lo and behold… I ran out of yarn. 😦

I went to the store to get some more to find that they did not have any more of the blue! Well, by this time, we were probably already married and in our first house. So priorities shifted and this blanket lay unfinished in my knitting bag.

——> Fast-forward to now. <—–

My eldest minion saw me laugh when I opened the knitting bag and came over to look. There lies the blanket, knitting needles still attached longing for the day that there will be more navy blue Chanel yarn to complete it.

Then it dawns on me. While this blanket is not the height of my husband, it is certainly long enough to keep all three minions warm on the couch during a cozy movie night.

So I start knitting right then and there. I simply closed off {knitters don’t hate… I obviously don’t do it much!} the final line with the remaining blue yarn and the blanket was deemed completed.

Now, here’s the thing: I held up the blanket and laughed to myself about all the noticeable mistakes and imperfections that lie in this blanket. But my children were simply amazed that I was able to make something so useful and beautiful.

image         image

My parenting is like this damn blanket.

When I look back on the day, I see my mistakes and how I should have handled certain situations differently with my kids. I see the holes. I notice the imperfections from my work. The crumbs on the floor… The lost temper… The burnt cookies…

But all my children see is the love that I put in to the day and they think it is absolutely beautiful. They see the warmth, the care, and the effort put in. They aren’t even looking past my mistakes, but rather to them, the mistakes do not exist.

I feel it is so important to always try to improve upon yourself. But this blanket – for whatever reason – really struck a chord with me to realize that to my kids, I am already the best.

So while it can be easy to beat yourself up focusing on your imperfections, sometimes we need to be reminded that we are the only ones who can see these mistakes. To our kids, we are simply a beautifully warm blanket.

image

Have a great day!
Andrea-sig

Leave a Reply

