Low-to-No Cost Scrabble Art

Now, I am not the handy-mom-blogger, but I can get some things done and I am very happy with how this latest home decor turned out.

I absolutely love Scrabble and Wordles and all those fun things, and had seen some nice Scrabble art on Pinterest. However, when I saw my friend’s family Scrabble art on her wall, I was in awe. I searched online and was immediately sticker-shocked. For my family of five, my Scrabble art would range from $75-$225 depending on quality and size.

IMG_7854

Quickly composing myself, I analyzed what I had in my arsenal of tools and channeled my inner-farm girl. We made these types of things in shop class back in 8th grade… I could do this for absolutely no money out of pocket! You can as well, or at least for very little out of pocket.

Materials Needed:

  • Scrap wood {we used an old shelf that was 12″ x 36″} -OR- 1″ x 3″, 1″ x 4″, or 1″ x 6″ boards from your home improvement store {Tip! Lowes and Home Depot will cut the wood for you at no cost if you go in with your needs. Simply tell them you need X number of squares and they will assist you in your needs. Use their expertise to save time and potential frustration.}
  • Sand paper
  • Stain in the color you like {I prefer a stain/polyurethane mix}
  • Paint brush
  • Rag for wiping off stain
  • School glue
  • Water
  • Cricut machine to cut letters and numbers
  • Paper {I used ivory, but if you prefer the natural wood, choose a deep brown or black}
  • Paint brush
  • Command strips to stick letters on wall {no nail holes!!!}

Note: If you don’t have a Cricut, you can use letters found in the scrapbook aisle in the craft sections of stores.

First thing is first: Sketch out what you want. This will tell you how many pieces of wood you need and what letters you don’t need to duplicate since you are building off one another.

Second, decide WHERE you want to place this. My husband and I liked various walls in our house for this project and depending upon which wall we chose, the size of our letters could have changed. This would have increased our need for a 1″ x 3″ to a 1″ x 6″ board in some cases. So, be certain you know where you plan to place.

OK, now time to begin the project!

  • Cut wood into squares. We decided to cut 3″ x 3″ squares for our Scrabble art. In total, we needed 27 squares, and cut a few more since this was a first round and, hey, I’m realistic 🙂 {Thanks Dad!!!}IMG_7775
  • Sand each piece of wood.
  • Apply stain. {Staining tips here.} Wipe off. Remember, the longer you leave the stain on, the darker it will be. We were going for a deep wood look with light letters, so I used Bombay Mahogany. I like the color, and we had some extra at our house from another staining project.
    • I had to stain each square in two parts – two sides and the top, then after it dried, I went back and stained the other two sides.

  • Program Cricut to cut the letters and numbers needed for the project -OR- Punch out letters from scrapbook letters.
    • TIP! Cut one full name with numbers and confirm measurements before doing everyone.

Once the wood is all stained…

  • Place letters and numbers on boards to ensure placement and size.IMG_7756
  • Make a modge-podge mixture.
  • Paint wood with modge-podge and place letters. {I tried without painting first, the letters kept moving on me.} While still wet, paint OVER the letters and numbers. If you see streaks, that is OK. It dries clear.
  • Repeat. Repeat. Repeat.
  • Using a level, choose one name to place on the wall. Apply command strips to the back of that name and place on the wall.
  • Repeat. Repeat. Repeat.

This project was a lot of fun and took about a week during nap times 🙂

A couple of notes:

  1. Yes, I know our letters are serif font, but I was able to do this project for $0.00 and justifying buying the sans serif Cricut font or scrapbook letters wasn’t there for me. I love how this turned out, even if it isn’t true Scrabble Font.
  2. If you have a Cricut, play with it first to get exact measurements. My letters are 2″ and numbers measure 1/2″.
  3. Please, please, please play with the design on the floor first. I had the letters separated more initially then Angela pushed them together while playing and we kind of liked them!

Thanks for reading and I hope you have as much fun with this project as I did!
Andrea-sig

Leave a Reply

