Super-Simple Budgeting Tool

Many know that in order to save money, you have to know how you are spending it. We know this. We don’t always follow it.

Years ago, my husband and I decided that we needed to have a strict accounting as to where every dollar was going. At the time, we were expecting Minion #2 and just bought a van where we committed to paying it off in three years.

I opened an Excel Document {I’m a little bit of an obsessive spreadsheet junky} and we got to work. We listed EVERYTHING. Bills {of course}, childcare costs, travel & entertainment {i.e. gas and restaurant money}, etc… At the time, I didn’t realize it, but we were setting ourselves up to follow Dave Ramsey’s Financial Plan.

If you do not know who Dave Ramsey is, he is the Author of the Total Money Makeover which helps people get out of debt quickly and literally gives you the Baby Steps as to how to have a sound financial future.

Having this budget helped my husband and I move our family recently. Outside of our mortgage, we have no debt. No car payments. No student loans. We use cash whenever possible to purchase items. And we have a cushioned Emergency Fund in case something traumatic happens. It takes discipline, but once you get the hang of it, it is REALLY EASY!

And to simplify things even more, you don’t even need a spreadsheet!!! {It’s crazy-talk, I know.} An app and website called EveryDollar was developed by Dave Ramsey that you can download for free that you can input your income and expenses into and it will show you where all your money is going {charts and graphs, woo hoo!!!}.

 

In addition to that, the site also guides you through the Baby Step program. After I input my info, it showed me that my family has already passed a couple of steps and explained exactly what we need to do next. Don’t get me wrong, Total Money Makeover is a book every family should have in their house, but I don’t take my copy out with me for constant review. The app allows for easy review of where your money is going and holds you accountable.

I encourage you to review the site and download the app. I also encourage you to review this WITH your spouse. Both of you need to be on board with a budget in order for it to work.

Go to www.EveryDollar.com now and get on your way to financial freedom!

everydollarHave a great day!!!

Leave a Reply

