What to do when you don’t know what to do…

There are rare moments in our household of five when, for one reason or another, I have unplanned free time. For example, today my minions are a little under the weather and have all three been asleep for two hours {and counting!}.

One of my all-time favorite books Strengths Finder 2.0 identified my #1 strength as “Achiever.”

“Your Achiever theme helps explain your drive. Achiever describes a constant need for achievement. You feel as if every day starts at zero. By the end of the day you must achieve something tangible in order to feel good about yourself. And by “every day” you mean every single day — workdays, weekends, vacations. No matter how much you may feel you deserve a day of rest, if the day passes without some form of achievement, no matter how small, you will feel dissatisfied… Your relentless need for achievement might not be logical. It might not even be focused. But it will always be with you. As an Achiever you must learn to live with this whisper of discontent…It is the theme that keeps you moving.”

Yup. That’s me! {Just ask my husband, or my former co-workers, or my family…}

Because of this lovely strength, these rare moments of extra time are actually horrifying to me! What can I do to fill this time? I MUST find something in order to be productive!!!

So, I made a list.

This is a list of things to do when I don’t know what to do. My husband and I actually started a similar list a couple of years ago in regard to our house, “Our Home Improvement List”

  • Hang pictures
  • Touch up paint
  • Organize the garage

Well, we actually developed a new list of home to-dos just last night. So today, when all the kids were asleep and I began to get stir-crazy, I remembered to look at the list.

This list gave me a sense of calmness. Within minutes, I checked a few items from the list. {Yay!}

If you are like me, a daily schedule is important. Now, don’t think I am that crazy; I don’t have every second of the day accounted for. But, I do have a typical schedule that guides my day. Luckily, since I have this daily schedule, I don’t have many chores to do, so these rare, unplanned moments are not consumed by laundry {Ugh! Laundry – the thought makes me shiver}, but rather a fun project or new book.

I am sharing this idea with you as inspiration to make a list of things to do that YOU WANT TO DO. So, when these rare quiet moments do happen, you are prepared to simply look at that list and get started!

Each person’s list will look different. It could be a list including, but not limited to:

  • books to read {that you have in your house so you can actually read them in these unexpected moments},
  • DIY projects,
  • new blog posts, 🙂
  • scrapbook pages,
  • recipes to try,
  • gardening tricks,
  • at-home pedicures,
  • workouts,
  • etc…

The point is, the list should be developed for YOU!

Enjoy these moments. God only knows when they will occur again 🙂

Have a great day!

One thought on “What to do when you don’t know what to do…

  1. Pingback: Mom PSA: Set a good example | Fun & Frugal Mama

Leave a Reply

