“Don’t ‘Should’ on Yourself Anymore!”

How often to do we get hung up on what we failed to do in the past so much that we don’t even try in the future? The new year brings a lot of hope, but also a lot of apprehension about those horrible “New Year’s Resolutions.” Perhaps it is eating better, exercising more, getting more organized, etc…

For a few years now, I have kind of gone away from traditional resolutions and moved more toward being intentional in what I do. For example, I resolved a few years ago to “make someone smile each day.” Not only did that move me to be intentional about being kind each and every day, but it also allowed me to make someone’s day – or at least their minute.

Smiling is contagious. Who have you infected today?

One of the first statements I heard yesterday was one my dad has said my entire life. “Today is the first day of the rest of your life.”

It is so true. When you live today as it was a fresh start, you obtain an optimism that you can achieve anything! I try to do this. Yes, I have made mistakes in my life. We all do. Every day. I do not harp on these mistakes, though, but rather learn from them so that I can better myself.

If we set goals for ourselves {either daily or by way of resolutions} and we fail one day, start fresh tomorrow! Learn from past mistakes so that you can overcome them in the future. When we live in a world of “should’ve” we stiffen ourselves and never move forward.

You can’t change the past. You can learn from it.

motherteresa

Forget the “should” and “do” today!

Have a great day!
Andrea-sig

 

 

P.S. Thank you Pastor Duane Flemming at Christian Community Church for the great inspiration yesterday!

Leave a Reply

