Why Everyone Should Try Direct Sales Once

I am going to be blunt from the get-go: Direct Sales is NOT for everyone. BUT! Each and every person will learn valuable strengths they possess and grow from the direct selling experience. In addition, those who try will earn, even if they are not the best sellers. πŸ˜‰

{Note: This is NOT a “solicitation” post so do not fear reading further. I won’t even mention what I sell until the end and then it will be included with friends’ direct selling products as well. You have my word.}

A year and a half ago, I started my journey in direct sales. I had been approached in the past by friends to try various products – and I did try the products – but nothing ever jumped out at me enough to consider doing anything further with the companies. Last July, I found a company that I really liked and therefore was willing to try my hand at selling – if only for the extreme discount.

I am the type of person that when I start something, I go all in. If I put my name on something – endorsing the company and product – I want to know all about the company. Everything I found out, I liked. Everything I experienced with the products was solid. This, for me, was imperative for me to move forward into the business side of direct sales. And (for those who don’t know) if you want to make really good money, you want to be a business builder. So I continued my journey to become a business builder and I started selling!

Now, I absolutely LOVE helping people with all my heart. So I was excited. The hurdle for me was actually talking to people. I did not know this about myself.

My past work experience was primarily on the computer and phone as we were an international organization where I talked with people in various states each day. I rarely talked face-to-face with anyone outside my building. I did not know that this was a weakness of mine, but it is. And, as much as I love the company and the product, I was reluctant to talk about it unless I was prepared for it. When I had a meeting set up, I was great. When I was asked about it randomly in a parking lot… Umm… Hummina, hummina… It. Good. Want some?

Hmm… Clearly not my strength πŸ™‚

The sales experience taught me things about myself that, had I not taken that leap and tried, I would not know. Did I stop because I was shy? No. I used this as an opportunity to better myself. I looked at it as a positive way to grow my abilities. The odds are that when my littlest minion goes to school, I’m not jumping right back into my old job, so I need to hone my skills across the board to be desirable in interviews with any company! The ability to talk confidently with people = HUGE gain in any business. Direct sales is a great way to practice/improve that skill!

Another thing that direct sales forced me to deal with and improve upon was one thing that I hated when I worked full-time as well: Following up with people to ensure they do what they say they are going to do.

In my world, if you say you are going to do something, you are going to do it. It is that little character trait I feel all people should have… dependability.

People are not dependable. There. I said it.

People are nice. They have good intentions and/or desires. The truth of the matter is that – to many people – what you are offering in direct sales is a want, not a need. Therefore, it is NOT a priority in their lives… but they are interested. This is where it gets hard.

These people are what I classified as “wishy-washy.” They would always talk to me {and there were several} about their desires, but would not pull the trigger. Ever. Therefore, it wasn’t a priority. So I had to find the balance of reminding without nagging – this is essential in a direct sales business.

I’m not going to lie: I got exhausted at times. Tired of being let down. Hurt from white lies people would tell me to get out of it. I wanted to scream, “Just tell me no!” That would have been sooooo much easier! “No” I can handle; “kinda yes”… Ugh!

However, again, I used this as a learning experience. What could I tweak to get more direct answers from people? I can’t control what anyone is going to tell me, but I certainly can control what I tell others. So I stayed positive and kept pushing ahead. When you learn to cast vision into these people, it clicks! {For both you and them!} Some people have this natural charisma about them that you want to hear more. I don’t have this natural ability. So, I had to practice. Direct sales actually encourages you to become a professional storyteller. This is fun! And the more you practice, the better you get.

Why try Direct Sales?

  • Professional growth.
    • Many of the leadership books/concepts I read in management while working were referenced often in my direct sales training and other books were added to my list. This is a business and should be treated as one.
  • Extra money.
    • If you sell to one person, you make money. If you stay connected to your mentor/upline/trainer and follow their advice, you will earn.
  • Great discounts on products you love. Even during your slow times, you still get the benefit!
    • A key to direct sales – make sure you sell something you are passionate about. For example, I don’t care a ton about candles so I would make a horrible Scentsy rep πŸ™‚
  • Personal growth.
    • I learned a lot about myself in this experience and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. I discovered some weaknesses of mine and worked very hard to overcome them.
    • Plus, I have reconnected with many people from my life either by running into them at conferences or simply by reaching out.
  • Encouragement.
    • Every rep is so encouraging as you walk your journey. Calls, meetings, conferences… I don’t think I ever saw any one without a smile.

In the end, I continue to make a few hundred dollars a month in my direct sales work. I am not currently a business builder as I re-prioritized things in my family, but I am still a product user and talk highly of my company because it does work. I have seen lives transformed from both the product side and the business side, which is why I do believe that everyone should try direct sales.

You don’t know what you are capable of until you try. YOU might find your passion and it will pay off.

If you are a representative for a direct selling company, please feel free to post your contact information in the comments below. You work hard πŸ™‚

Have a great day!
Andrea-sig

AdvoCare Independent Distributor

2 thoughts on “Why Everyone Should Try Direct Sales Once

  1. Very insightful, Andrea. I never would have imagined that I would be in direct sales either. But I love Park Lane Jewelry and have been a Branch Director since 2006. It’s my “fun job”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

