Mom{ME} time

While I absolutely, honest-to-God adore my three little minions, if I didn’t have my personal Mom{ME} time, I would be found curled up in the fetal position, sucking my thumb in a dark closet hiding under a blanket.

The importance of having Mom{ME} time is not only good for, well, me! but also incredibly important for my family.

I have been both a full-time working mom and a stay-at-home mom. I can tell you that, while the levels are different, the stress is very much there in both cases.

  • As a full-time working mom, the stress level is about a category 8 during the day {depending on the job}, but it has breaks. Take 10 minutes to talk by the water cooler… Go out for lunch by yourself… Refresh your body with a quiet cup of coffee with your office door closed. Phew! OK – bring back the stress.
  • As a stay-at-home mom, the stress level is about a category 3 during the day, but it NEVER STOPS! So while, yes, it is “easier” at times to be at home, there are no breaks. No time to refresh. No reprieve!

Unless… You are intentional about your Mom{ME} time.

What do I mean? I mean, make certain that you take an hour or so every day to recharge YOUR battery.

For me, “resting time” in our house is every day from 1:30-3:00. In this time, I make some sort of a hot beverage as it simply calms me {my favorite right now is Orange Spark with Pumpkin Pie Spice!}, tidy up the house {10-15 minutes}, and then embark of an activity of MY choosing. Sometimes, yes, it is house related – My home is my work! But more often than not, it is something that I want/choose to do: blogging, DIY-ing, researching, cooking, catching up with friends, house-hunting, etc…

NOTE: Be intentional about this time so that when the hour occurs you aren’t spending 40 minutes coming up with an activity.

In addition to Mom{ME} time IN THE HOUSE, three mornings a week after dropping the oldest minion off at school, we head to the gym for a nice workout! Here, I have some mommy friends that I can talk with as well as get my fitness on! {A stress reliever for me.}

The point is, that if you don’t have time AWAY FROM your family, you can start to become resentful TOWARD your family. No one wants that.

Another thought about having Mom{ME} time. This shows my children that while I am there for them, it is important to have other obligations. I want my children to see me doing things other than caring for them so that they realize that Mommy is a person too! So while I am working with the Church, planning a meeting, or “working” online, I am also able to illustrate the multi-tasking working mom abilities that they don’t necessarily see with me at home.

Mom sets the tone of the house. So true. At least in our house 🙂

So, how will you plan your Mom{ME} time this week?

ad-mommetimeHave a great day!
Andrea-sig

3 thoughts on “Mom{ME} time

  1. Pingback: At-Home Preschool Tips | Fun & Frugal Mama

  2. Pingback: No-Stress Resting Time | Fun & Frugal Mama

  3. Pingback: Mommy Reset | Fun & Frugal Mama

Leave a Reply

