Fire Safety Week

Fire Prevention Week is October 9-15, 2016

It’s Fire Safety week for the minions and we have had a lot of fun already {and it’s just Monday!}.
I wanted to share with you some of the FREE lessons we are using this week along with some complementing activities to tie it all together.

Quick note: There are many useful lesson plans and such online that you can purchase, especially if you are a teacher. For us and the limited use they do receive in our home, I only use the free packs.

I have to admit, this was a FUN lesson for me. We already owned some great books to complement the lesson about fire safety and we even created some little songs to solidify important information {more on that later in the post}. Each day, we go over the fire safety rules {Click here for 10 Rules of Fire Safety}, do a lesson {letters, numbers, or sorting}, an activity, songs, and stories. This fills our morning with themed fun 🙂

To help with the lessons, I have some key sites I use for learning packs. We love our learning packs. In these, you will find coloring sheets, math lessons {sorting and patterns}, writing exercises, and more! The thing I love about these packs in particular is that I was able to go through each pack and divide them into three piles – Pile A for my 4 1/2  year old, Pile B for my 2 1/2 year old, and Pile C for both.

Pile A includes number mazes up to 20, precise cutting practice sheets, and advanced letter recognition. Pile B includes numbers, sorting, matching, and letter recognition. Pile C includes do-a-dots, coloring sheets, and patterns. {Our oldest minion can pull from Pile C as well after her school work is completed.}

Dividing these up allow me to conduct similar lessons for both smaller minions simultaneously as in the example below.

firesafety1While my younger one works on the first page, my older minion works on the more advanced second page. Both are letter recognition, but clearly one is more difficult. There are several examples of these throughout the pages I will share with you.

Quick side note: The above example is also a minion-favorite when I make a chalk maze in our driveway. They either hop from letter to letter {or number to number} or they ride their bikes along the path.

Another thing that I like about the preschool packets is that there are many pages within each. I pick and choose what I want. Sometimes I print them in color, sometimes in black and white. It really just depends on the page.

Lesson Packs:

Here is list of the sites I went to for the Fire Safety Week activities {some of these sites have a lot of links within, so please follow my notes to find the appropriate link on which to click}:

  • Royal Baloo {scroll down and click “Download Preschool Pack Here”}
  • Gift of Curiosity {scroll down a little ways and click centered, big red words “Click here to download your copy of the Fire Fighter Do-a-Dot Printables!”}
  • 123Homeschool4me {coloring sheets}

Activities:

Sooooooo many from which to choose!

Songs {Remember, simplicity is key for little ones remembering}:

Stop, Drop, & Roll {Sung to the tune of “The Farmer in the Dell”}
Stop, Drop, & Roll; Stop, Drop, & Roll
If you’re on fire
You Stop, Drop, & Roll.

Go Outside {Sung to the tune of “If you’re happy and you know it” – don’t judge me…}
If there’s a fire in the house,
Go outside.
If there’s a fire in the house,
Go outside.
If there’s a fire in the house,
Don’t hide like a mouse.
If there’s a fire in the house,
Go outside.

9-1-1 song {Sung to the tune of “This Old Man”}
9-1-1, 9-1-1,
Press the buttons, 9-1-1
If you’re hurt and scared and you don’t know what to do
9-1-1 sends help to you.

Complementing Books:

Miss Mingo and the Fire Drill

Curious George

Arthur’s Fire Drill

No Dragons for Tea

And, phew! That’s all for now 🙂

I hope this helps you in your lesson planning and that you enjoy teaching such a valuable lesson to your minions.

ad-fire-safety

Have a great day!
Andrea-sig

One thought on “Fire Safety Week

  1. Pingback: Pinterest Board Suggestion: Autumn Preschool | Fun & Frugal Mama

Leave a Reply

