Overnight Oatmeal

I just finished preparing one of the easiest breakfasts tonight {and one of the best time-savers!} – overnight oatmeal.

So, what is overnight oatmeal? Let’s ask Google 🙂

Overnight oats are the perfect solution to fuel your day properly, without having to get up at the crack of dawn. The basic premise of these recipes is simple: Mix up the ingredients — namely oats and some sort of liquid — before bed and allow them to soak overnight in the refrigerator.

If you have yet to try this wonderfully easy and delicious breakfast, I encourage you to do so this week. There are so many flavor combinations that {unless you have a thing against oatmeal} you are sure to find a combination that works for you.

This takes less than five minutes to prepare and I simply spoon out in the morning for the minions. Sometimes I add hot water to heat it up, sometimes I don’t. It really depends on time and flavor for me.

Here’s my super-easy, silly-sounding way I prepare our overnight oats. Since I have three minions and myself {the husband dines at work}, I make more than most recipes suggest. I take a recycled pasta sauce jar {I have a little obsession with finding new uses for things}, fill it 3/5 of the way full of rolled oats, add yogurt or milk, fruit, seeds and spices, and shake, shake, shake! Then, put it in the refrigerator and pull out in the morning!

From peanut butter to blueberry granola muffin to pumpkin pie {we did this tonight!}… the flavor combinations are endless! But, to get you started, click here for a pretty thorough list of different recipes. You can also see some more inspiration here.

ad-oatmeal

Have fun coming up with your favorite overnight oats!
Andrea-sig

Leave a Reply

