Tips BEFORE Shopping at Aldi

I love Aldi. {Read about my love here.} But my first couple of trips were… well… embarrassing humbling.

Had I known the tips and tricks of the store from the get-go, I would have been much better prepared and much less embarrassed by my own actions. Hopefully you can learn from {and chuckle at} my experiences. 🙂

Pay-per-use shopping carts: $.25

The first time I went to Aldi, I had my three minions with me. A very nice woman saw us getting out of the van and brought her cart over for our use. She lingered, as many do, and smiled at my little ones. I made quick small talk and then went into the store, thinking, wow! She must have really liked my minions. It wasn’t until we were leaving and I offered a man the same cart and he insisted I take the quarter it cost me to use the cart. I didn’t quite understand this for a couple of minutes until I got into my van to leave. My 1st Aldi FAIL!

Cash or Debit ONLY As of 2/28/2016, Aldi now accepts credit cards!

While Aldi now does accept credit cards, I still highly recommend using cash or debit in order to not grow your debt.

When I started shopping at Aldi, we were dabbling in Dave Ramsey’s Envelope System so I had some cash on me, but nothing like I do today with our grocery budget. I still remember it. I had $11 in cash.

We went through the store and got our groceries. The total: $23. No problem, I had my credit card. This wonderful backup in case I am low on funds! But alas, it is not a debit card. Umm… OK. Let’s see what we can do. I pulled my cart over and started removing items.

A side note as this is one of the most humbling moments in my life. While going through my wallet to see what I had and then going through my groceries to pull out the wants vs. the needs, not one, but TWO separate women stopped to give me money. They saw that I had children and insisted that I needed the money. I thanked them both so much and told them each that I simply was ignorant. I also was certain to tell them I was so impressed by their kindness and that if I was in a position where I needed their help, I would have truly been blessed by them. They offered to help me no questions asked. Their act of generosity had a major impact on my life and this is the kindness I see often at the Aldi I shop. No judgement. No questions. Just people helping people.

Long story short, I removed some items and left with what we needed at that time. My 2nd Aldi Fail! And I always go prepared with cash in hand now 🙂

BYOB {Bring/Buy Your Own Bags}

Aldi keeps costs low by not bagging items. You have the option to bring your own bags/boxes/totes from home or buying some of the Aldi bags on-site. I was intrigued by this. It was not a hindrance in any way, but something I wish I had known before going my first time.

And there you have it. Some quick tips to prepare you as you venture out to Aldi!

ad-aldi-tips

Good luck and God speed, my friend!
Andrea-sig

One thought on “Tips BEFORE Shopping at Aldi

  1. Pingback: 5 Reasons to Try Aldi | Fun & Frugal Mama

Leave a Reply

