Dos and Don’ts of Pinterest

It happens, I know. You are online and see an article that somehow leads you Pinterest. An hour later, you realize you haven’t even finished reading the article you started with.  Now it is time to pick up the kids.  Where did the time go?!?

My friends and I have talked about Pinterest.  I was intrigued to discover how many people get “lost” in Pinterest – meaning, they find themselves on Pinterest for an hour and won’t really know how they got from looking for a Chicken recipe to redesigning their laundry room. I haven’t really had this issue and so I really started to evaluate it.  From discussions with friends, I’ve developed a list of Dos and Don’ts when entering Pinterest. I hope it helps stay on target the next time you go online.

Do:

  • Be intentional. Type in to the search bar {the grey bar at the top left of the Pinterest page}  EXACTLY what you are seeking, i.e., “Preschool Dinosaur Math”. Here, look and go crazy pinning to a folder that you know you will be able to find it later, examples would include preschool lessons, math lessons, or even preschool dinosaur math 🙂
  • Set a time limit. This has been key with me in so many tasks. I can see how easy it is to get lost in Pinterest with so many rabbit trails, but if you go with a 10 minute time limit, you are much more apt to stay on the right path.
    • Tip: If my computer clock says that it is 2:14, I will round up to 2:20. This gives me enough time to look and do the task I set out to do.  My personality is “pressure prompted” and setting my own time limits truly helps me in completing my tasks.
    • Tip: There are apps you can get within Google Chrome, such as Momentum, that tells you how much time you spend in certain areas online.  This was eye-opening for me!!!
  • Close the “Also on” pop up that comes up after you pin an idea. This is designed to keep you on the Pinterest site longer, helping the site stay free as Pinterest and their sponsors like to see people on the site for a long time… and it works!  You see a pretty little picture on this “Also on” pop up and somehow you are now looking at origami napkin folding {really quite cool, actually}. They got you!!! 20 more minutes lost.

Don’t:

  • Don’t go in without a mission. Unless you are just vegging online {which there is a time for 🙂 }, always have a plan.  Going into Pinterest without a goal is like going into The Mall of America without a list.  You don’t know where you are going, what is there, and/or what you need.  You will look like a lost puppy and probably end up with a cat collar even though you don’t own a cat {you know, just in case}.
  • After you pin, don’t even look at the “Also on” popup that shows you other pinners who pinned the same thing.  I know, I know, this is mentioned differently in the “do” list, but it is very important if you don’t want to get lost in Pinterest. I close this pop up immediately as it can be a distraction {to be honest, I get very annoyed at the fact that it comes up, but I understand the marketing side of it to keep you on the site}.
  • Don’t beat yourself up if you just looked at the clock and you have been in Pinterest for two hours.  Simply walk away from the computer.  Regroup and evaluate.  Did you pin what you intended to?  If not, LATER go back, pin that party invitation idea and walk away.

So, that is it!  If you have any other tips on staying on target with Pinterest, I’d love to see!  Please comment below.  For now, happy pinning 🙂

ad-pinterest

Have a great day!
Andrea-sig

4 thoughts on “Dos and Don’ts of Pinterest

  1. Pingback: Pinterest Board Suggestion – Dramatic Play | Fun & Frugal Mama

  2. Pingback: Pinterest Board Suggestion – Character Development | Fun & Frugal Mama

  3. Pingback: Pinterest Board Suggestion: Super Healthy Kids | Fun & Frugal Mama

  4. Pingback: Pinterest Board Suggestion: Autumn Preschool | Fun & Frugal Mama

Leave a Reply

